

Special Meeting of Electors

MINUTES

Thursday 11th April 2024, at 6.00pm, to be held at the Kellerberrin Recreation Centre Cuolahan/Cottle Room

Order of Business

- 1) Declaration of opening
- 2) Acknowledgement of Country
- 3) Purpose of the meeting
- 4) Closure

Matthew Steber

SHIRE PRESIDENT

Mtleby -

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Shire President opened the meeting at 6:09pm

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

We begin today by acknowledging the Ballardong Noongar people as traditional custodians of the land and skies on which we gather, and we pay our respects to their elders, past, present and emerging.

3. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Officers

Raymond Griffiths – Chief Executive Officer Morgan Ware – Manager of Governance Michelle Wilson – Executive Assistant

Attendance

President Matthew Steber

Deputy President Emily Ryan

Cr Monica Gardiner

Cr Paul Brown

Cr Dennis Reid

Cr Kelsey Pryer

Cr David Leake

Christine McDonald

Judith Ugle

Janine Jones

Robert McCaffrey

Lucene Stevens

Wayne Stevens

Michelle Schmook

Julie Innes

Gavin Morgan

Murray McDonald

Ryan Forsyth

Cindy Hubble

Yung Hong Lau (not an elector of the district)

Michael Cole

Stuart Reid

Nola Dixon (not an elector of the district)

John Hammond

Nat Hammond

Maddy Bubb

Leanne Jacobson

Murray Clement

Jane Scholz

Eva Cole

Eric Innes

Ian Kent

Rex Ugle

Joyce Rutter

E Zumbo

Garry Jones

Philip Maisey

Chris Bloom

Jean Walker

Patrick

Phil Innes

Valecia McDonald

Caleb McDonald

Sara Curtis

Paul Hubble

Lou Steber

Brittney Sutherland-Scott

Nikayla Ovens

Andrew Van Ballegooyen

Joy Van Ballegooyen

Zane Walker (not an elector of the district)

Tracey Silver

Pip Arthur

Philippa Walsh

Kevin Walsh

Lindsay Tiller

Dave Fox

Rosemary Stevens

Neville Tiller

Rex Clement

Helen Thornton

Alan Cole

Jan Innes

Letitia McDonald

Amanda Stewart

Kirsten Ritchie

Anne Alcock

Frances Ibbotson

Rob Lamplugh

Lyn Steber

Zenedelle Arancon

Faith O'Ryan

Jacki Peak

Mary McWhirter

Dwight Van Ballegooyen (not an elector of the district)

Amber Watkins

Jenny Perich

Renza Bishop

Ric Newman

Janelle Cugley

Robert Watkins

Faith Watkins

Larry Stewart

Valerie Waddington

Heather Sharmen

Ellen Diana Gorfin

L Pearson (not an elector of the district)

Dave Westcott

Frank Morley

Ann Dixon

Allan Lang

Neil Smith

Charlotte Smith

Colin Herbertson

Glenys

Leigh Giles

Rod Tinker

Christine Vandeleur

Jenny Zalmstra

Rosemary Dowding

Bruce Dowding

Grant Gardiner

Tony Downs

John Nicholls

Allie Steber

Noel Hobbs

Reynald McIntosh

Anthony Allington

Rob Bradley

Marcia Gamble

Adrian Gamble

Wayne White (not an elector of the district)

Ross Robartson (not an elector of the district)

Noelene Morley

Michelle McDonnell

Sonya Morley

Calista Wilkins

Sue Ireland

Grame Ireland

John Coleman

Barbara Cox

Tony Vandeleur

Simon Hunter

Shyra Coleman

Patricia Coleman

Brett Taylor

Mick Jones Grame Kessell Rex Luers Rob Dixon (not an elector of the district) Rochelle Giles

Apology

Trevor Ryan
Michelle Ryan
Rod Forsyth
Alex Leake
Clare Leake
James Ryan
Trevor Wilkins

Katy Hunt

Norm Silver

4. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

MOTION 1

Moved: Colin Herbertson Seconded: Renza Bishop

That the Shire acknowledge and thank Dr Andrew Van Ballegooyen for his 30 years of service to the community, since 1994.

CARRIED 108/0

BY SIMPLE MAJORITY

MOTION 2

Moved: Colin Herbertson Seconded: Cindy Hubble

That the Shire initiate the necessary steps to lease to Dr Van Ballegooyen (or his related business entity):

- a. The Kellerberrin Medical Centre premises, located at 13 Moore Street, Kellerberrin; and
- b. The doctor's residence at 22 Gregory Street, Kellerberrin.

Each for a final three year term commencing 19 November 2024 and expiring on 18 November 2027 (and otherwise on comparable terms and conditions to Dr Van Ballegooyen's current lease)

CARRIED 79/27

BY SIMPLE MAJORITY

MOTION 3

Moved: Colin Herbertson Seconded: Renza Bishop

That the Shire:

- a. Note the community's disappointment at the manner in which a 334 signature petition presented by Mrs Joy Van Ballegooyen was dismissed by Council at its 8 February 2024 Ordinary Council Meeting; and
- b. Notwithstanding any perceived technicalities, expressly acknowledge the 334 petitions" clear statement of intent that (amongst other things): 'We do not want to lose the services of Dr Van, who has served us in an exemplary fashion for many years'.

CARRIED 73/28

BY SIMPLE MAJORITY

MOTION 4

Moved: Robert Bradley **Seconded:** Tony Allington

- 1. That this meeting of electors request Council at its next Ordinary Council meeting to vote by majority to accept the proposal of Dr Andrew Van Ballegooyen to continue his practice as set out in Item 4 Purpose of the meeting which implies that subsection 1,2 and 3 are intended actions of the Shire.
- 2. Further, any negotiations about the practice with other parties which have not been a resolution of Council be rescinded.

CARRIED 70/32

BY SIMPLE MAJORITY

CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business the Shire President thanked everyone for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 6:51pm.